Session Title: Labor Markets, Discrimination and the Academy

Joint Association: American Society of Hispanic Economists (ASHE)
Organizer: Susan Pozo (susan.pozo@wmich.edu) – Western Michigan University
Chair: Omari H. Swinton (oswinton@howard.edu) – Howard University

Papers

Paper #1 : Labor market conditions and charges of discrimination: Is there a link?

Authors

  • #1: Karl David Boulware (kboulware@wesleyan.edu) – Wesleyan University

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

  • #2: Kenneth N. Kuttner (Kenneth.N.Kuttner@williams.edu) – Williams College

Paper #2 : Student Debt and Labor Outcomes

Authors

  • #1: Gerald Eric Daniels Jr. (Gerald.Daniels@howard.edu) – Howard University

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

  • #2: Andria Smythe (asmythe11@gmail.com) – Howard University

Paper #3 : Hispanics in the Michigan Labor Market

Author

  • #1: Leonidas Murembya (murembya@msu.edu) – Michigan State University

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Paper #4 : The Problem of the 21st Century Revisited: Black and Hispanic Faculty and the Economics Color Line

Authors

  • #1: Sue K. Stockly (sue.stockly@enmu.edu) – Eastern New Mexico University

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

  • #2: Gregory N. Price (gprice@morehouse.edu) – Morehouse College

Paper #5 : Cognitive Awareness and Academic Performance: A Field Experiment

Authors

  • #1: Angelino Viceisza (aviceisz@spelman.edu) – Spelman College

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

  • #2: A. Nayena Blankson (ablanks1@spelman.edu) – Spelman College
  • #3: Jimmeka Guillory (jguillo1@spelman.edu) – Spelman College
  • #4: Francesina Jackson (fjackso8@spelman.edu) – Spelman College
  • #5: Bruce Wade (bwade@spelman.edu) – Spelman College

Discussants

  • #1: Edouard Wemy (ewemy@clarku.edu) – Clark University
  • #2: Delia Furtado (delia.furtado@uconn.edu) – University of Connecticut
  • #3: Susan Pozo (susan.pozo@wmich.edu) – Western Michigan University
  • #4: Patrick Mason (pmason@fsu.edu) – Florida State University
  • #5: Gbenga Ajilore (Gbenga.Ajilore@UToledo.Edu) – University of Toledo

Panel Title: Gender Stratification for URM Economics and Sociology Faculty: Structural and Experiential Dimensions

Panel Abstract

This panel will present and discuss data from a recent National Science Foundation- funded project on underrepresented minority (URM) faculty career trajectories for both women and men. URM scholars often face both informal and structural barriers to full participation and thriving in predominantly white and male academic environments. The NSF-funded research suggests that these barriers are experienced especially by women of color. In addition, the panel explores the issue of gender stratification for URM faculty in the disciplines of economics and sociology. The academy is a deeply gendered institution, and men predominate in the top ranks of the professoriate. Recognition of these inequalities has focused on the concept of departmental climate. This construct refers to people’s perceived work environment including workplace practices, social interactions, and relationships (Wharton and Estevez 2014). The NSF-funded research asks whether URM women economists and sociologists experience inclusion and exclusion differently than men of color in their respective academic departments and in their disciplinary networks. The project findings are based on a survey of 198 black and Hispanic sociologists and economists, either currently or formerly employed in academia, who obtained their PhDs between 1995 and 2006. In addition, findings include trends from a set of pilot in-depth interviews from these same survey respondents, and a network analysis based on co-authorship of publications. Finally, the panel will discuss several policy recommendations around hiring and promotion, rewards for teaching and advising, pay raises for administrative work, and travel funding.

Organizer: Jean H. Shin (shin@asanet.org) – American Sociological Association
Chair: Jean H. Shin (shin@asanet.org) – American Sociological Association

Panelists

  • #1: Roberta Spalter-Roth (rspalter@gmu.edu) – American Sociological Association/George Mason University

Topic: Gender Dynamics in STEM Careers for Economics and Sociology Faculty

  • #2: Marie T. Mora (marie.mora@utrgv.edu) – University of Texas-Rio Grande Valley

Topic: Academic Stratification for URM Economics and Sociology Faculty

  • #3: Kyle Moore (kylekmoore90@gmail.com) – New School for Social Research

Topic: Survey Data on Gender Stratification for URM Economists and Sociologists

  • #4: Ismael Cid-Martinez (icidmartinez@gmail.com) – New School for Social Research Topic: Gendered Experiences in Career Trajectories: Evidence from URM Faculty Interviews
  • #5: Jermaine Toney (jermaine.toney@gmail.com) – Cornell University

Topic: Co-Authorship Networks for URM Faculty in Economics and Sociology

Session Title: Economic Trade and Development

Organizer: Gregory N. Price (Gregory.price@morehouse.edu) – Morehouse College
Chair: Gregory N. Price (Gregory.price@morehouse.edu) – Morehouse College

Papers

Paper #1 : Openness and Income Disparity in Sub-Saharan Africa: A Cross- Country Analysis

Author

  • 1: Romie Tribble Jr. (rtribble@spelman.edu) – Spelman College

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Paper #2 : Can Parent’s Alcohol Consumption create Negative Education Externalities for Children? Evidence from India

Author

  • #1: Ruth Uwaifo Oyelere (ruth.uwaifo@morehouse.edu) – Morehouse College and IZA

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Paper #3 : Economic Integration In West Africa: A Reconsideration of the Evidence

Author

  • #1: Akpan H. Ekpo (ahekpo@waifem-cbp.org) – West African Institute for Financial and Economic Management; Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Paper #4 : Structural Transformation and Primary Commodity Dependence in the ‘Rising’ ECOWAS Economies

Authors

  • #1: Douglason G. Omotor (yomotor@yahoo.com) – West African Institute for Financial and Economic Management; Corresponding Author, Presenting Author
  • #2: Uduakobong Inam (udysammy@yahoo.com) – University of Uyo, Nigeria

Paper #5 : How do US Multinationals Impact Growth in West African Countries?

Author

  • #1: Miesha Williams (miesha.williams@morehouse.edu) – Morehouse College

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Discussants

  • #1: Juliet Elu (juliet.elu@morehouse.edu) – Morehouse College
  • #2: David Poyer (david.poyer@morehouse.edu) – Morehouse College
  • #3: Linda Loubert (linda.loubert@morgan.edu) – Morgan State University
  • #4: Jan Christopher (jchristopher@desu.edu) – Delaware State University
  • #5: Angelino Viceisza (aviceisz@spelman.edu) – Spelman College

Session Title: Household Behavior and Public Policy

Organizer: Charlotte Otabor (charlotte.otabor@gmail.com) – District of Columbia Government
Chair: Charlotte Otabor (charlotte.otabor@gmail.com) – District of Columbia Government

Papers

Paper #1 : Does the District 2012 Income Tax Policy Increase Tax Revenue? Evidence from a Regression Discontinuity Design

Authors

  • #1: Amira Alghumgham (alghumgham@gmail.com) – Howard University

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Paper #2 : Does Affordable Housing Participation Reduce Default and Prepayment? The Case for the Montgomery County MPDU Program

Authors

  • #1: Adji Diagne (adji_diagne@yahoo.com) – U.S. Department of Commerce

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Paper #3 : Amenity Migration within a Millennial City Evidence from Washington DC Tax Data, 2005-2015

Authors

  • #1: Charlotte Otabor (charlotte.otabor@dc.gov) – Office of the Chief Financial Officer, DC Gov. Corresponding Author, Presenting Author
  • #2: Haydar Kurban (hkurban@howard.edu) – Howard University
  • #3: Benoit Schmutz (benoit.schmutz@polytechnique.edu) – Ecole Polytechnique

Paper #4 : Payday Lending and the Unbanked Households

Authors

  • #1: Lakitquana Leal (lakitquana_leal@yahoo.com) – U. S. Census Bureau

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Discussants

  • #1: Bradley Hardy (hardy@american.edu) – American University
  • #2: Linda Loubert (Linda.Loubert@morgan.edu) – Morgan State University
  • #3: Ejindu Ume (umee@miamioh.edu) – Miami University
  • #4: Haydar Kurban (hkurban@howard.edu) – Howard University

Session Title: Race, Inequality, and Criminal Justice Policy

Organizer: Robynn Cox (robynnco@usc.edu) – University of Southern California
Chair: Michelle Holder (michelleholder999@gmail.com) – John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Papers

Paper #1 : Impacts of Private Prison Contracting on Time Served and Recidivism

Author

  • #1: Anita Mukherjee (anita.mukherjee@wisc.edu) – University of Wisconsin-Madison

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Paper #2 : Parental Incarceration and Adult Human Capital

Authors

  • #1: Laura E. Henkhaus (laura.henkhaus@usc.edu) – University of Southern California

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Paper #3 : Does Race Matter? Implications from Court-ordered Police Hiring Quotas and Police Killings of Civilians

Authors

  • #1: Robynn Cox (robynnco@usc.edu) – University of Southern California

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

  • #2: Jamein Cunningham (jamein.p.cunningham@memphis.edu) – University of Memphis
  • #3: Alberto Ortega (ortegaa@whitman.edu) – Whitman College

Paper #4 : Mandatory Minimum Reform, Race, and Recidivism

Authors

  • #1: Terry-Ann Craigie (tcraigie@conncoll.edu) – Connecticut College

Paper #5 : The Determinants of Declining Racial Disparities in Female Incarceration Rates, 2000-2015

Authors

  • #1: William J. Sabol (wsabol@gsu.edu) – Georgia State University
  • #2: Samuel L. Myers Jr. (myers006@umn.edu) – University of Minnesota

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Discussants

  • #1: Monica Deza (md3294@hunter.cuny.edu) – Hunter College and the Graduate Center, CUNY
  • #2: Nzinga Broussard (nbroussa13@gmail.com) – Millennium Challenge Corporation
  • #3: William J. Sabol (wsabol@gsu.edu) – Georgia State University
  • #4: Luisa Blanco (luisa.blancoraynal@pepperdine.edu) – Pepperdine University
  • #5: Dania Francis (dfrancis@econs.umass.edu) – University of Massachusetts Amherst

Session Title: The Political Economy and Health

Organizer: Jevay Grooms (jevaygrooms@gmail.com) – Howard University
Chair: Jevay Grooms (jevaygrooms@gmail.com) – Howard University

Papers

Paper #1 : The Political Economy of Death: Do Elected Coroners perform as well as Medical Examiners in determining suicide?

  • #1: Jose Fernandez (jose.fernandez@louisville.edu) – University of Louisville

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Paper #2 : Racial disparities, food insecurity and health among low income U.S. households

  • #1: Fafanyo Asiseh (fasiseh@ncat.edu) – North Carolina A & T State University
  • #2: Obed Quaicoe (oquaicoe@ncat.edu) – North Carolina A & T State University

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Paper #3 : (D)ACA and immigration changes: What is the effect of a change in legal status on health coverage?

Author

  • #1: Monica Perez-Garcia (migarciaperez@stcloudstate.edu) – St. Cloud State University

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Paper #4 : Pricing Daughters and the Economic Burden of Disease: Evidence from the Meningitis Belt

Author

  • #1: Belinda Archibong (ba2207@columbia.edu) – Barnard College

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

  • #2: Francis Annan (Fa2316@columbia.edu) – Columbia University

Paper #5 : Health Insurance Coverage Among Mexican American Men under the ACA: A Tale of Two States, 2012-2015

Authors

  • #1: David van der Goes (dvandergoes@unm.edu) – The University of New Mexico

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

  • #2: Richard Santos (santos@unm.edu) – University of New Mexico

Discussants

  • #1: Mark Paul (mark.paul@duke.edu) – New College of Florida
  • #2: Molly Jacobs (mjacobs@fulbrightmail.org) – East Carolina University
  • #3: Alberto Ortega (ortegaa@whitman.edu) – Whitman College
  • #4: Joaqun Alfredo-Angel Rubalcaba (jrubalca@unm.edu) – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • #5: Jevay Grooms (jevaygrooms@gmail.com) – Howard University

Session Title: The State of Education in Africa and the Economic Consequences

Joint Association: African Finance and Economics Association (AFEA)
Organizer: Evelyn Wamboye (efw10@psu.edu) – Pennsylvania State University
Chair: Kwabena Gyimah-Brempong (kgyimahb@nsf.gov) – NSF

Papers

Paper #1 : Addressing Quality Issues in African Higher Education: A Focus on Ghana’s Emerging Private, Graduate Higher Education Sector

Authors

  • #1: Stephen E Armah (seamah@ashesi.edu.gh) – Ashesi University College

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Paper #2 : Elites and Education: Theory and Empirics

Author

  • #1: Mina Baliamoune-Lutz (mbaliamo@unf.edu) – University of North Florida

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Paper #3 : The Impact of Free Primary Education on Teenage Childbirth and Health Care Demand in Ghana, Uganda, Ethiopia and Mozambique

Authors

  • #1: Fafanyo Asiseh (fasiseh@ncat.edu) – North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University; Corresponding Author, Presenting Author
  • #2: Obed Quaicoe (oquaicoe@ncat.edu) – North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University

Paper #4 : Government Spending on Education and Economic Growth: A Case Study of West African Countries.

  • #1: Lloyd Ahamefule AMAGHIONYEODIWE (lamaghionyeodiwe@york.cuny.edu) – York College, City University of New

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Discussants

  • #1: Isaac Koomson (ikoomson@myune.edu.au) – Network for Socioeconomic Research and Advancement (NESRA), Accra, Ghana
  • #2: Bichaka Fayissa (Bichaka.Fayissa@mtsu.edu) – Middle Tennessee State University
  • #3: Taufiq Carnegie Dawood (taufiq.dawood@unsyiah.ac.id) – Syiah Kuala University, Darussalam, Banda Aceh, Indonesia
  • #4: Olajide Oladipo (OOladipo@york.cuny.edu) – York College of the City University of New York

Session Title: Topics in Health Economics

Organizer: Jevay Grooms (jevaygrooms@gmail.com) – Howard University
Chair: Sebastian Tello-Trillo (dst2c@virginia.edu) – University of Virginia

Papers

Paper #1 : Active Ingredients: Exploring the Key Factors Affecting the Rising Cost of Developing New Drugs

Authors

  • #1: Sarah J. Fossett (Sarah.fossett@credit-Suisse.com) – Credit Suisse
  • #2: Phanindra V. Wunnava (wunnava@middlebury.edu) – Middlebury College

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Paper #2 : Not Quite a Pill Mill: Effects of PDMPs on High Prescribing Providers across Provider Specialties

Authors

  • #1: Jevay Grooms (jevaygrooms@gmail.com) – Howard University

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

  • #2: Alberto Ortega (ortegaa@whitman.edu) – Whitman College
  • #3: Alice Ellyson (aellyson@uw.edu) – University of Washington

Paper #3 : How Extended Family Health Issues Influence Household Portfolio Allocations

Authors

  • #1: Vicki Bogan (vlb23@cornell.edu) – Cornell University

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

  • #2: Jermaine Toney (jt776@cornell.edu) – Cornell University

Paper #4 : Bank failures and Deaths: The Social Costs of local Credit Market Frictions

Authors

  • #1: Salvador Contreras (salvador.contreras@utrgv.edu) – University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

  • #2: Amit Ghosh (aghosh@iwu.edu) – Illinois Wesleyan University
  • #3: Victoria A. Perez (vieperez@indiana.edu) – Indiana University

Paper #5 : Too Long Acting? The Implications of the Long-Acting Nature of LARC Methods on their Uptake and Use

Author

  • #1: Lorissa Pagán (lcpagan@uncg.edu) – The University of North Carolina at Greensboro; Corresponding Author, Presenting Author

Discussants

  • #1: Sebastian Tello-Trillo (dst2c@virginia.edu) – University of Virginia
  • #2: Monica Garcia-Perez (migarciaperez@stcloudstate.edu) – St. Cloud State University
  • #3: Linda Loubert (linda.loubert@morgan.edu) – Morgan State University
  • #4: Nicholas Hill (j00096514@jsums.edu) – Jackson State University
  • #5: Joaquín Alfredo-Angel Rubalcaba (jrubalca@unm.edu) – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill