View Photos! NEA Selects University of Minnesota Professor Samuel Myers For Westerfield Award

University of Minnesota Professor Samuel Myers has been named as the Samuel Z. Westerfield Award recipient by the National Economic Association (NEA).

The award, the NEA’s highest honor, was presented at the organization’s 2015 annual meeting.

Click on an image to enlarge. 

Photo credit: Craig Bailey/Perspective Photo

The Westerfield Award is named after the distinguished economist and former Ambassador to Liberia, Samuel Z. Westerfield. Established in 1973, it acknowledges outstanding scholarly achievements and public service by an African-American economist. Previous recipients include Nobel Laureate Sir W. Arthur Lewis, Phyllis Wallace and Marcus Alexis.

Dr. Myers is the Roy Wilkins Professor of Human Relations and Social Justice at the University of Minnesota. He specializes in the impacts of social policies on the poor, and he’s a pioneer in the use of applied econometric techniques to examine a range of racial disparities.

Myers is a national authority on the methodology of conducting disparity studies and has served as an expert witness in the groundbreaking federal case of GEOD vs New Jersey Transit (3rd Circuit Court of Appeals). He is a co-founder of the Colorado Minnesota Disparity Study Consortium, which regularly provides technical assistance to state transportation departments, airport authorities, and local transit agencies. He is also a past president of the NEA.

The National Economic Association was founded in 1969 to promote the professional lives of minorities within the profession. The organization focuses on producing and distributing knowledge of economic issues that are of exceptional interest to native and immigrant African Americans, Latinos, and other people of color.