Black Women in the Economics Profession

Panel Session

Friday, Jan. 3, 2020 12:30 PM – 2:15 PM

Marriott Marquis San Diego, Marriott Grand Ballroom 2
Hosted By: National Economic Association

  • Chair: Miesha Williams, Morehouse College
JEL Classifications
  • J7 – Labor Discrimination
  • B5 – Current Heterodox Approaches

Session Title: Factors Impacting Emerging African Nations

Association: National Economic Association
Chair: Juliet Elu Guliet.elu@morehouse.edu) – Morehouse College
Organizer: Miesha Williams (miesha.williams@morehouse.edu) – Morehouse College
Expected Attendance: 50

Discussants

  • #1: John Ned (jned@loyola.edu) – Loyola University Maryland
  • #2: Cruz Bueno (buenoc@newpaltz.edu) – State University of New York-New Paltz
  • #3: Jamein Cunningham (jamein.p.cunningham@memphis.edu) – University of Memphis
  • #4: Linda Loubert (linda.loubert@morgan.edu) – Morgan State University
  • #5: Jan Christopher (jchristopher@desu.edu) – Delaware State University
Primary JEL Classification: 01 – Economic Development
Secondary JEL Classification: 02 – Development Planning and Policy

Papers

Paper#1: A Dynamic Path to Infrastructural Development in Africa: The Role of Economic Integration

Authors
  • #1: Oladele Omosegbon (oomosegb@iupui.edu) – Indiana Wesleyan University and Indiana University-Purdue University  Indianapolis (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #2: The Effects of Recent Violent Conflict Exposure on Labor Supply of Agricultural Households in Nigeria

Authors
  • #1: John Chiwuzulum Odozi (chiwuzulum@yahoo.com) – University of Ibadan-Nigeria (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Ruth Uwaifo Oyelere (ruwaifo@agnesscott.edu) – Agnes Scott College and IZA

Paper #3: Development Funding in Africa: The case of West Africa

Authors
  • #l: Juliet Elu (juliet.elu@morehouse.edu) – Morehouse College (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Miesha J. Williams (miesha.williams@morehouse.edu) – Morehouse College

Paper #4: Financing electricity and transport infrastructure in selected sub-Saharan African countries: The role of AIDS

Authors
  • #l: J.0. Saka (x@lagos.edu)-Lagos State University-Nigeria (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Douglasson G. Omotor (domotor@waifem-cbp.org) -The West African Institute of For Financial and Economic Management, Lagos, Nigeria

Paper #5: Economic Development and Challenges in Sub- Saharan Africa

Authors
  • #1: Emmanuel Obi (emmanuel.obi@morehouse.edu)- Morehouse College (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #6: Governance, Growth, and development in Sub-Sahara Africa: A Revisit of the Evidence

Authors
  • #1:Akpan H. Ekpo (ahekpo@gmail.com) – the University of Uyo-Nigeria, and Foundation for Economic Research and Training (FERT) (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Session Title: Race, Ethnicity and the 2020 National Election

Association: National Economic Association
Joint Association: American Society of Hispanic Economists
Chair: Fernando Lozano (fl004747@pomona.edu) -Pomona College
Organizer: Fernando Lozano (fl004747@pomona.edu) – Pomona College
Expected Attendance: 100
Primary JEL Classification: J4 – Particular Labor Markets
Secondary JEL Classification: J7 – Labor Discrimination

Papers

Paper #1: A Look Ahead at the 2020 Elections: How Important is Diversity in the Candidate Pool?

Authors
  • #1: Catalina Amuedo-Dorantes (camuedod@sdsu.edu) – San Diego State University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Jose R.Bucheli(jbucheli@ucsd.edu) – University of California-San Diego

Paper #2: Federal Job Guarantee, Baby Bond and Reparations: A Three-Legged Stool of Racial Economic Justice

Authors
  • #1: Darrick Hamilton (hamilton.l348@osu.edu) – Ohio State University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #3: Estimating the Potential Effects of Adding a Citizenship Question to the 2020 Census

Authors
  • #1: Misty Heggeness (misty.l.heggeness@census.gov) – U.S. Census Bureau (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: J. David Brown (j.david.brown@census.gov) – U.S. Census Bureau
  • #3: Suzanne M. Dorinski (suzanne.marie.dorinski@census.gov) – U.S. Census Bureau
  • #4: Lawrence Warren (lawrence.fujio.warren@census.gov) – U.S. Census Bureau
  • #5: Moises Yi (moises.yi@census.gov) – U.S. Census Bureau

Paper #4: Whitelashing: Black Politicians, Taxes, and Violence

Authors
  • #1: Trevon Logan (logan.1SS@osu.edu) – Ohio State University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #5: Communities Under Siege: Ethnic Profiling Under Auspices of 287(g) in North Carolina

Authors
  • #1: Joaquin Rubalcaba (Grubalca@unc.edu) – University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #6: Estimating the Present Value of black Agricultural Land Loss in the U.S., 1910 – 1977

Author
  • #1: Dania Francis (dfrancis@econs.umass.edu) – University of Massachusetts Amherst (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Session Title: Relationships among Health, Education and Inequality

Association: National Economic Association
Chair: Andria Smythe (andria.smythe@howard.edu) – Howard University
Organizer: Andria Smythe (andria.smythe@howard.edu) – Howard University
Expected Attendance: 50

Discussants

  • #1: Jevay Grooms (jevay.grooms@howard.edu) – Howard University
  • #2: Marcus Casey (mcasey@brookings.edu) – Brookings Institution
  • #3: EJ Ume (umee@miamioh.edu) – Miami University
  • #4: Omari Swinton (oswinton@howard.edu) – Howard University
  • #5: Jamein Cunningham (jamein.p.cunningham@memphis.edu) – University of Memphis
Primary JEL Classification: 11 – Health
Secondary JEL Classification: 12 – Education and Research Institutions

Papers

Paper #l: State Mental Health Insurance Parity Laws and College Educational Outcomes

Authors
  • #1: Keisha Solomon (keisha.solomon@temple.edu) -Temple University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #2: The Relationship Between Student Debt and Health

Author
  • #l: Gerald Eric Daniels Jr.(Gerald.Daniels@howard.edu) – Howard University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Venoo Kakarz (vkakar@sfsu.edu) – San Francisco State University

Paper #3: Do ethnic enclaves protect foreign-born women from intimate partner violence.

Author
  • #l: Rebecca Hsu (linchi07uw@gmail.com) – Howard University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #4: The Causes and Consequences of Neighborhood Sorting: Evidence from School Finance Reforms

Author
  • #l: Kenneth Whaley (kdwhale@g.clemson.edu) – Clemson University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2:Patrick Bayer (patrick.bayer@duke.edu) – Duke University
  • #3:Peter Blair (peter_blair@gse.harvard.edu)- Harvard University

Paper #5: Higher Education and Racial/Ethnic differences in Intergenerational Mobility

Author
  • #l: Andria Smythe (andria.smythe@howard.edu) – Howard University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #6: Macroeconomic aspects of income inequality

Author
  • #l: Karl Boulware (kboulware@wesleyan.edu) – Wesleyan University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Kenneth N. Kuttner (Kenneth.N.Kuttner@williams.edu) – Williams College

Session Title: Crime, Financial Shock, Employee Ownership

Association: National Economic Association
Chair: Olugbenga Ajilore (gajilore@americanprogress.org) – Center for American Progress
Organizer: Olugbenga Ajilore (gajilore@americanprogress.org)- Center for American Progress
Expected Attendance: 50

Discussants

  • #1: Robynn Cox (robynnco@usc.edu) – University of Southern California
  • #2: Salvador Contreras (salvador.contreras@utrgv.edu) – University of Texas-Rio Grande Valley
  • #3: Stefano DellaVigna (x@berkeley.edu) – UC Berkeley
  • #4: Samuel L. Myers Jr.(myers006@umn.edu) – University of Minnesota
Primary JEL Classification: Kl – Basic Areas of Law
Secondary JEL Classification: K4 – Legal Procedure, the Legal System, and Illegal Behavior

Papers

Paper #1: Local financial shocks and its effect on crime

Authors
  • #1: Salvador Contreras (salvador.contreras@utrgv.edu) – University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Amit Ghosh (aghosh@iwu.edu) – Illinois Wesleyan University

Paper #2: Crime, Employment, and Broad-Based Employee Ownership Opportunities

Authors
  • #1: Robynn Cox (robynnco@usc.edu) – University of Southern California (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #3: Media influences on entrepreneurship and innovation

Authors
  • #1: David T. Robinson (davidr@duke.edu) – Duke University-The Fuqua School of Business
  • #2: Angelino C. G. Viceisza (aviceisz@spelman.edu) – Spelman College (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #4: Disparities in Homeownership and Mortgage Lending: Understanding the American Indian Experience from 2005-2017.

Author
  • #1: Jeffrey Burnette (jdbgse@rit.edu) – Rochester Institute of Technology (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Javier Espinosa (jxegse@rit.edu) – Rochester Institute of Technology

Paper #5: Trends in Global Female Labor participation:1990-2017

Authors
  • #1: Hanadi Alabaad (hanadi.alabaad@bison.howard.edu) – Howard University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Zhun Xu (x@howard.edu) – Howard University

Paper #6: The Green Books and the Geography of Segregation in Public Accommodations

Authors
  • #1: Lisa Cook (lisacook@msu.edu) – Michigan State University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Maggie E. C. Jones (x@msu.edu)- Michigan State University
  • #3: Trevon Logan (x@msu.edu) – Michigan State University
  • #4: David Rose (x@msu.edu) – Michigan State University

Session Title: Crime, Race, and Public Policy

Association: National Economic Association
Chair: Miesha Williams (Miesha.Williams@morehouse.edu) – Morehouse College
Organizer: Jamein P. Cunningham (jamein.p.cunningham@memphis.edu) – University of Memphis
Expected Attendance: 50

Discussants

  • #l: Scott Cunningham (Scott_Cunningham@baylor.edu) – Baylor University
  • #2: Marcus Casey (mcasey@uic.edu) – University of Illinois-Chicago
  • #3: DamonJones (damonjones@uchicago.edu)- University of Chicago
  • #4: Jhacova Williams (jhacovw@clemson.edu) – Clemson University
  • #5: Luisa Blanco (luisa.blancoraynal@pepperdine.edu) – Pepperdine University
Primary JEL Classification: K4 – Legal Procedure, the Legal System, and Illegal Behavior

Papers

Paper #l: Effect of Proposition 47 on Minority Labor Market Outcomes

Authors
  • #1: Robynn Cox (robynnco@usc.edu) – University of Southern California (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Jamein Cunningham (jamein.p.cunningham@memphis.edu) – University of Memphis

Paper #2: Racial Divisions and Criminal Justice: Evidence from Southern State Courts

Authors
  • #l: Benjamin Feigenberg (bfeigenb@uic.edu)- University of Illinois-Chicago (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Conrad Miller (ccmiller@berkeley.edu) – University of California-Berkeley

Paper #3: Network Effects in Police Use of Force

Authors
  • #l: Bocar Ba (bocar.ba@duke.edu)- Duke University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Justin Holz (justinholz@uchicago.edu) – University of Chicago
  • #3: Roman Rivera (rgr2122@columbia.edu) – Columbia University

Paper #4: Racial and Gender Congruence in Police Use of Force Encounters

Authors
  • #1: Andrea M. Headley (headley.74@osu.edu) – Ohio State University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: James E. Wright III (jwright4@fsu.edu) – Florida State University

Paper #5: Household Responses to the Escalation of Violent Crime in Mexico

Authors
  • #1: Luisa Blanco (luisa.blancoraynal@pepperdine.edu) – Pepperdine University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Robin Grier (robin.grier@ttu.edu) – Texas Tech University
  • #3: Kevin Grier (kevin.grier@ttu.edu) -Texas Tech University
  • #4: Daniel Hicks (hicksd@ou.edu) – University of Oklahoma

Paper #6: Campus Carry Laws on Campus Violence

Authors
  • #1: Olugbenga Ajilore (gajilore@americanprogress.org)- Center for American Progress (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Session Title: Discrimination in Labor Markets and Educational Settings: Experimental Evidence

Association: National Economic Association
Chair: Timothy Diette (DietteT@wlu.edu) – Washington and Lee University
Organizer: Dania Francis (dfrancis@econs.umass.edu) – University of Massachusetts Amherst
Expected Attendance: 50

Discussants

  • #1: Mackenzie Allston (mackenziealston@tamu.edu) – Texas A&M University
  • #2: Robynn Cox (robynnco@usc.edu) – University of Southern California
  • #3: Marcus Casey (mcasey@uic.edu) – University of Illinois-Chicago
  • #4: Daniel Silverman (Daniel.Silverman.l@asu.edu) – Arizona State University
  • #5: Duba Tore Altindag (dza00l3@auburn.edu) – Auburn University
Primary JEL Classification: J7 – Labor Discrimination
Secondary JEL Classification: 12 – Education and Research Institutions

Papers

Paper#1: Do workers discriminate against their out-group employers? Evidence from an online labor market

Authors
  • #1: Sher Afghan Asad (asad.sherafghan@gmail.com) – Iowa State University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #2: Ageist Language in Job Ads and Age Discrimination in Hiring: Evidence from a Field Experiment

Authors
  • #1: Patrick Button (pbutton@tulane.edu) – Tulane University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #3: Statistical Discrimination v.s Implicit Bias:
Disentangling the Sources of Gender and Racial Bias in an Educational Setting

Author
  • #1: Dania V.Francis(dfrancis@econs.umass.edu)- University of Massachusetts-Amherst (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #4: Race, Religion, & Immigration: Experimental Evidence from the Labor Market

Authors
  • #1: Deborah Rho (deborah.rho@stthomas.edu) – University of St. Thomas (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #5: Constructing Capital in the Twentieth Century: Prisons and Forced Labor in British Colonial Africa

Authors
  • #1: Belinda Archibong (ba2207@columbia.edu) – Barnard College (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #6: Do Language Restrictions on Obtaining Drivers’ License Influence Immigrant Labor Market Outcomes?

Authors
  • #1: Colin Cannonier (colin.cannonier@belmont.edu) – Jack C. Massey College of Business Belmont University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Session Title: Disparities Across Race and Gender: Economics of Health and Well-Being

Association: National Economic Association
Chair: Jevay Grooms (jevaygrooms@gmail.com) – Howard University
Organizer: Joaquin Alfredo-Angel Rubalcaba (jrubalca@email.unc.edu) – University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Expected Attendance: 50

Discussants

  • #l: Olugbenga Ajilore (gbenga.ajilore@utoledo.edu) – University of Toledo
  • #2: Alberto Ortega (ortegaa@whitman.edu) – Indiana University
  • #3: Jamein Cunningham (jamein.p.cunningham@memphis.edu) – University of Memphis
  • #4: Dania Francis (dfrancis@econs.umass.edu)- University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • #5: Fafanyo Asiseh (asiseh@ncat.edu) – North Carolina A&T State University
Primary JEL Classification: IO – General
Secondary JEL Classification: Jl – Demographic Economics

Papers

Paper #l: Examining Racial and Ethnic Differences in Substance Use Treatment

Authors
  • #l: Jevay Grooms (jevaygrooms@gmail.com) – Howard University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Alberto Ortega (ortegaa@whitman.edu) – Indiana University

Paper #2: Drug quality and gender parity of clinical trial participants

Authors
  • #l: Britni Wilcher (britni.wilcher@gmail.com)- American University (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #3: About.Face: Seeing Class and Race

Authors
  • #l: Mark Paul (mapaul@ncf.edu) – New College of Florida (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Imari Smith (x@duke.edu) – Duke Univesity
  • #3: Sarah E. Gaither (x@duke.edu) – Duke University
  • #4: William Darity (william.darity@duke.edu) – Duke University

Paper #4: Pursuit of Happiness

Author
  • #l: Joaquin Alfredo-Angel Rubalcaba (jrubalca@email.unc.edu) – University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)
  • #2: Candis Watts Smith (x@unc.edu) – University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Paper #5: Health Expenditure, Gender, and Rent-Seeking in the United States and other OECD Countries

Author
  • #l: Mina Baliamoune-Lutz (mbaliamo@unf.edu) – the University of North Florida and African Center for Economic Transformation
  • (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)

Paper #6: The Reparations Bill: Adding Late Charges and Securing a Funding Source

Author
  • #l: Robert Williams (bwillia2@guilford.edu) – Guilford College (Presenting Author) (Corresponding Author)